Harcourt’s largest structure is the three-arch railway viaduct over Barkers Creek on the north side of Symes Road.
The bridge was built of Harcourt Granite in 1859 by German masons directly imported for the task. Three spans of 12.5 metres each demonstrate the superb skills of the designers and the builders in the dressed stone, the voussoirs and the abutments. The viaduct was built on land originally owned by pioneering orchardist Nathaniel Vick.
It is a picturesque element in the landscape as well as being a structure built to endure.